Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou Up For Award

Two of Chelsea’s star players are up for a prestigious award. Both Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou have been nominated for the prestigious African Footballer of the Year Award.

Drogba has already won the award twice, once in 2006 and again in 2009. Now Drogba will go up against his Chelsea team mate Kalou for the allocade.

The national coaches from 54 countries affiliated to the Confederation of African Football will vote for their winner.

Kalou won African Young Player of the Year in 2009, after representing the Ivory Coast in the Olympics and African Cup of Nations. This is the first time he has been nominated for African Player of the Year.

Nominees for African Footballer of the Year

Ahmed Hassan (Egypt and Al-Ahly)
Andre Ayew (Ghana and Marseille)
Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana and AC Milan)
Madjid Bougherra (Algeria and Rangers)
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast and Chelsea)
Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon and Inter Milan)
Mohamed ‘Gedo’ Nagy (Egypt and Al-Ahly)
Asamoah Gyan (Ghana and Sunderland)
Salomon Kalou (Ivory Coast and Chelsea)
Seydou Keita (Mali and Barcelona)

Watch Drogba and Ksalou play live. Chelsea tickets are available online.

Comments are closed.